Skip to main content
Property Kete
← Back to home

Trust

Data sources

Every dataset PropertyKete uses, its owner, licence, refresh schedule, and coverage area. Findings on individual reports link back to the relevant source.

Auckland Council

Auckland Council rates and valuations (2024 revaluation)

Auckland Council region. ~624k rating units with CV, LV, latest CV / LV, valuation dates per rating unit. 2024 revaluation snapshot.

CC BY 4.0Irregular

Usage note: Rates and valuations are publicly inspectable under Rating Valuations Act 1998 s.54. CV is the council assessment, not a market valuation — Auckland properties typically transact at a different ratio depending on suburb, condition, and market cycle.

Auckland Unitary Plan base zones (operative in part)

Auckland region. Base zone polygons under the Auckland Unitary Plan (operative in part). Overlays are held as a separate layer. Designations and heritage scheduled items are not currently checked.

CC BY 4.0Quarterly

Usage note: The Unitary Plan is operative in part; appeals and plan changes may modify zones between refreshes. Findings direct you to council confirmation rather than treating the zone as authoritative for development capacity. Auckland Council’s licence does not permit republishing a substantial amount of this data outside a property report.

Auckland Unitary Plan overlays (operative in part)

Auckland region. AUP overlay polygons: Special Character (Residential and Business), Historic Heritage (extent of place), Significant Ecological Areas, Notable Trees, and Sites and Places of Significance to Mana Whenua. Other AUP overlays/controls/designations are not yet ingested.

CC BY 4.0Quarterly

Usage note: Operative in part; appeals and plan changes may modify overlays between refreshes. Findings name the overlay but never claim what is or is not consentable — confirm with the council.

Auckland Council (Engineering, Assets and Technical Advisory)

Auckland Council landslide susceptibility — large-scale (2025)

Auckland region. Large-scale (slope-unit) landslide susceptibility. Five classes: Very Low, Low, Moderate, High, Very High. Recommended viewing scale 1:50,000.

CC BY-SA 4.0Irregular

Usage note: Regional-scale susceptibility mapping — "is not intended for site-specific use without further, more detailed assessment" (Auckland Council). Indicator wording must direct material findings to a chartered geotechnical engineer rather than imply a property-specific hazard determination.

Auckland Council landslide susceptibility — shallow (2025)

Auckland region. Shallow (near-surface soil/rock) landslide susceptibility, 32 m grid. Five classes: Very Low, Low, Moderate, High, Very High. Recommended viewing scale 1:20,000–25,000.

CC BY-SA 4.0Irregular

Usage note: Regional-scale susceptibility mapping — "is not intended for site-specific use without further, more detailed assessment" (Auckland Council). Indicator wording must direct material findings to a chartered geotechnical engineer rather than imply a property-specific hazard determination.

Auckland Council (Healthy Waters)

Auckland Council coastal inundation — 1% AEP (current sea level)

Auckland region coastline. Modelled inundation extent for a 1% AEP (1-in-100-year) storm at present sea level.

Licence not statedIrregular

Usage note: Modelled at catchment scale; site-specific assessment may differ, and Auckland Council disclaims fitness for site-specific use. Auckland Council publishes this layer for public use but does not state which licence applies, and we have asked the council to confirm.

Auckland Council coastal inundation — 1% AEP with 1m sea-level rise

Auckland region coastline. Modelled inundation for a 1% AEP storm assuming 1m of sea-level rise (roughly a 2100-horizon scenario under high-emissions trajectories).

Licence not statedIrregular

Usage note: A projection, not present-day flooding: it models a 1% AEP storm assuming 1m of sea-level rise, which is one scenario among several. Modelled at catchment scale and not fit for site-specific use. Auckland Council publishes this layer for public use but does not state which licence applies, and we have asked the council to confirm.

Auckland Council flood plains (1% AEP)

Auckland region. Areas modelled to be inundated in a 1% AEP storm event with future climate change.

Licence not statedQuarterly

Usage note: Auckland Council disclaims fitness for site-specific assessment, and the report wording reflects that. Auckland Council publishes this layer for public use; it does not state a licence for it, and we have asked the council to confirm one.

Auckland Council overland flow paths

Auckland region. Linear features showing stormwater flow over the surface during heavy rain. LiDAR-derived 2019.

Licence not statedIrregular

Usage note: Identified using GIS techniques rather than hydraulic modelling. Indicative of stormwater risk and consenting constraints, not a guarantee that land outside a path will not flood. Auckland Council publishes this layer for public use but does not state which licence applies, and we have asked the council to confirm.

Auckland Council / Wellington City Council / Christchurch City Council

Council District / Unitary Plan zoning layers

Deferred at launch — Auckland Unitary Plan, Wellington District Plan, and Christchurch District Plan zoning layers each require separate council licence review before ingestion.

Council licenceIrregular

Usage note: Each council restricts redistribution of its GIS layers under its own data-supply terms. Where a council’s zoning layer is not yet licensed to PropertyKete, the report says the data is unavailable for that address and links you to the council’s planning portal — it never treats the gap as a clear result.

GNS Science

GNS Active Faults Database (NZAFD-AF250)

Nationwide. 1:250,000 scale active fault traces with attributes (NZAFD-AF250).

Open with attributionIrregular

Usage note: : the GNS active-fault finding is always rendered in the free preview tier and is never placed behind a paid report or a Pro subscription, and the attribution “GNS Science” always appears alongside the finding. PropertyKete applies both controls unconditionally. Their origin is UNVERIFIED — the written GNS Science permission they were recorded from has not been located, and GNS publishes a commercial-use prohibition on NZAFD-AF250 that is unresolved. Do not describe these as an agreed contractual condition until that written grant is produced. Permission for the separate GNS products (NZAFD-HighRes, Fault Avoidance Zones, Fault Awareness Areas) is a distinct question per product and is not implied by anything here. See in docs/requirements/10-data-source-requirements.md and the source-tier policy in.

Land Information New Zealand

LINZ Basemaps

Nationwide raster + vector tiles. Free for use with attribution.

CC BY 4.0Static (one-off)

LINZ NZ Building Outlines

Nationwide where imagery is available; quality varies regionally.

CC BY 4.0Irregular

LINZ NZ Primary Parcels

Nationwide cadastral parcels.

CC BY 4.0Quarterly

LINZ NZ Properties: Property-Address Reference

Nationwide. Many-to-many bridge between LINZ addresses (address_id) and LINZ Property Spine units (unit_of_property_id). ~6.8M rows.

CC BY 4.0Quarterly

LINZ NZ Street Address

Nationwide. Address points with parcel association.

CC BY 4.0Quarterly

Land Information New Zealand (DVR data supplied by Territorial Authorities)

LINZ NZ Properties: National District Valuation Roll (open subset)

Partial. Christchurch City, plus opted-in rural districts (Kaipara, Selwyn, Southland, Ōtorohanga, others). Auckland and Wellington are NOT in this subset — full DVR for those TAs is restricted-access or commercial.

CC BY 4.0Irregular

Usage note: CV, land value, improvements, building age / condition / construction / floor area, zoning, and property-use codes per LINZS30300 (Rating Valuations Rules 2008). Use only for informational display — never as a substitute for a registered valuer.

Ministry of Education

Ministry of Education Enrolment Zones

Nationwide where zones exist. Not all schools are zoned.

Open with attributionMonthly
Last refreshed: 31 May 2026Source homepage →

Ministry of Education School Directory

Nationwide schools list with metadata.

Open with attributionMonthly
Last refreshed: 4 Jun 2026Source homepage →

OpenStreetMap contributors

OpenStreetMap (amenities)

Nationwide. Crowd-sourced; coverage varies.

ODbL (OpenStreetMap)Weekly

Usage note: ODbL share-alike; derived databases must be released under ODbL.

Last refreshed: 5 Jun 2026Source homepage →

OpenStreetMap (public transport stops + routes)

Nationwide; metro coverage strongest.

ODbL (OpenStreetMap)Weekly

Usage note: ODbL share-alike.

Last refreshed: 5 Jun 2026Source homepage →

Stats NZ

Stats NZ Statistical Area 1 2023

Nationwide. Smallest published statistical geography.

CC BY 4.0Irregular
Last refreshed: 11 Jun 2026Source homepage →

Stats NZ Statistical Area 2 2023

Nationwide.

CC BY 4.0Irregular

Stats NZ Territorial Authority 2025 (Clipped)

67 NZ territorial authorities, coast-clipped, current to 1 Jan 2025.

CC BY 4.0Annual
Last refreshed: 20 May 2026Source homepage →

Stats NZ and University of Otago

Stats NZ / Otago Deprivation Index 2018

Nationwide. Updated every census cycle.

Open with attributionIrregular

Stats NZ Tatauranga Aotearoa

Stats NZ 2018 Census Individual (part 2) by SA1

Nationwide. SA1-level (Statistical Area 1) counts from the 2018 Census, including highest qualification and personal income bands.

CC BY 4.0Irregular

Usage note: Counts are statistically rounded by Stats NZ to protect confidentiality (random rounding to base 3). Some SA1s with very low population may be suppressed.

Last refreshed: 22 May 2026Source homepage →

Stats NZ 2023 Census totals by topic for households by SA1

Nationwide. SA1-level 2023 Census household counts — access to telecommunications (internet) and number of motor vehicles. Feeds the NZDep2023 deprivation breakdown.

CC BY 4.0Irregular

Usage note: Counts are randomly rounded to base 3 by Stats NZ to protect confidentiality, and some low-population statistical areas are suppressed. This is area-level data — it describes the statistical area, not any individual property or resident.

Stats NZ 2023 Census totals by topic for individuals by SA1

Nationwide. SA1-level 2023 Census individual counts — highest qualification, work and labour force status, sources of personal income, and individual home ownership. Feeds the NZDep2023 deprivation breakdown.

CC BY 4.0Irregular

Usage note: Counts are randomly rounded to base 3 by Stats NZ to protect confidentiality, and some low-population statistical areas are suppressed. This is area-level data — it describes the statistical area, not any individual property or resident.

Tenancy Services / MBIE

MBIE Rental Bond Data

Nationwide. Aggregated by SA2 or suburb. Small-cell suppression applies.

Open with attributionQuarterly

Toitū Te Whenua LINZ

NZ Property Titles List

New Zealand (national)

CC BY 4.0Quarterly

Usage note: Title information only — excludes ownership details. Do not use the ownership-inclusive datasets.

University of Otago and Stats NZ

NZDep2023 Index of Socioeconomic Deprivation

Nationwide. SA1 2023 deprivation decile (1 = least deprived, 10 = most deprived) and score, from the 2023 Census across eight deprivation dimensions. Supersedes NZDep2018.

Open with attributionIrregular

Usage note: An area-level measure of the statistical area, not of any individual property or resident. Some low-population statistical areas have no published value.

Last refreshed: 11 Jun 2026Source homepage →

Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency

Waka Kotahi NZTA Road Centrelines

Nationwide state highway and local road centrelines.

Open with attributionMonthly

A note on coverage

Where a dataset doesn’t cover the property you searched, we show that the data is unavailable rather than treat it as a clear result. PropertyKete never interprets missing data as a low-risk signal.